PDA

View Full Version : New to linux need advice

jwilds73
03-25-2003, 10:45 AM
Well I am very new to linux (Just got it running yesterday), I have two old machines I'm using as my linux learning boxes a decently equiped p200 and a Gateway p133. My 200mhz is running redhat now with no real problems it was a custom built system asus mb, 196mb ram, etc. So it has nice parts for it's era and everything seems to run fine on it. The Gateway was given to me by a friend that knew I tinkered on computers and it's a pain in the rear. I can't get redhat to run at all I can run the install program (wouldn't autorun from cd but I poked around and figured out I needed to and how to make a boot floppy) but when it gets ready to install it goes to a error screen. However Knoppix's runs on it fine I believe it has proprietary ram (has about 40mb's) so not sure if I can upgrade it, but with a swap file Knoppix's runs with the full gui. After reading the FAQ I'm thinking of installing Knoppix's to the Hard Drive however my question is will all the software remain compressed even after transfer to HD (I'm really sure it will) and I'll only benefit from the faster transfer rate of the data from the HD as compared to from the cd. Ideally I would like to find a version of linux with a gui that will run nicely on such a old underpowered system. I just downloaded Mandrake 9.0 i586 and might mess around with it some on the 200 machine but, I was abit confused as to what version to get to try and put on the 133 but atleast for now Knoppix's runs on it with no trouble.

Jwilds

RockMumbles
03-25-2003, 04:46 PM