PDA

View Full Version : Wireless Networking with a Zydas 1201 chip USB device and K?

ewangr
10-21-2004, 07:25 PM
As the subject implies, I'm trying to figure out how to get a Belkin F5D6051 USB Stick 802.11b device to work with Knoppix. This device uses the Zydas 1201 chip, and the only driver I could find for this (at linux-lc100020.sourceforge.net) seems to require a kernel patch that I suspect would be a bit more "fun" using Knoppix.

Was wondering if anyone has been able to get this or any other device using this chip to work with Knoppix? Would also appreciate advice as to whether it's easier to use 2.4 or 2.6 kernel for doing this?

Thanks in advance!

grant_vallance
10-22-2004, 11:21 AM
Greetings,

I am no Linux expert, but ....

I guess the easiest way you can do it using the Knoppix Live CD option (rather than a HD install) is to use the original Belkin Windows drivers under ndiswrapper.

(Being a novice, I am not sure whether it is possible or easy to upgrade the kernel while using a live CD. Again, I guess you probably could, but that it would be ugly.)

Anyway, that is what I would try, no doubt others could give you a better suggestion.

I have experience getting Belkin cards to work under Knoppix 3.6 (FD5700uk & FD57010uk -- Broadcom chipset) using ndiswrapper. Either 2.4 or 2.6 works, but I have had more success with 2.6. Details are in my post: Success with Knoppix 3.6 and Wireless Networking. Its a sticky so it should be easy to find :)

HTH

Grant D. Vallance

ewangr
10-22-2004, 04:25 PM
I guess the easiest way you can do it using the Knoppix Live CD option (rather than a HD install) is to use the original Belkin Windows drivers under ndiswrapper.

Well, at this point I'd be happy to hear how to do it using an HD Install.