PDA

View Full Version : Install knoppix on realy old laptop

MrBug
10-27-2004, 08:01 AM
I have a realy old laptop, that does not support booting with the cd-rom. SO i tried to boot knoppix with an boot-disk. But the problem is, that i get a message that tells me, that there is no knoppix filesystem, so it only starts a very limited prompt.
I made an ext2 filesystem with a swap partition, but the message is still there. Perhaps this error is, because of the boot-disk.
What is the knoppix filesystem? ext3? Where can i get a programm to make this filesystem. Are there other ways to install knoppix on this laptop?
(Sorry, i am a noob, thx for help :? )

Steve F
10-27-2004, 11:55 AM
On my Compaq DL360 (2 years old) I have to use the boot option 'atapicd' to keep the computer from using SCSI driver to read the CD. If I don't use 'atapicd' I get a partial boot with a failure at about 25%. It finds and starts reading the file system okay, then fails.

I also have had problems with the CD-rom drive itself in addition to the computer not being able to boot from CD because of its age. In all my cases, when I swapped in a newer CD-rom drive, the computer could read the knoppix file system on the CD (with both boot floppy and CD boot).