PDA

View Full Version : Triumph!!!

impure_client
10-28-2004, 06:01 AM
Hi all, I'm new to Linux, having just installed an old version of Red Hat on a spare box I've got just to mess around with it and learn. I ran across Knoppix the other day, and thought it sounded like a great way for me to work with Linux while using my (Windows) laptop. So I burned it off, and ran it up this afternoon. It froze on a black screen right after prompt. After much finagling (and command line goodness) made possible with help from this forum, I got it to start up. Then, my wireless LAN card didn't work. I read up on the forums again, and tried out the suggestions, and, after a few tries, here I am posting this with Knoppix right now.
Bottom line is, after a day's worth of messing with Linux, the two times I've been able to make things work were total joy. There's something gratifying in making things work without having to rely on Windows automation.
Sorry if this sounds dumb, just wanted to get it out. Thanks everyone!

mzilikazi
10-28-2004, 01:41 PM
woot!

Cuddles
10-29-2004, 03:02 PM
Kewl, and good job :!:

I am always amazed that most, if not all, of the issues people have, have already happened, and doing a Search Knoppix.net, will come up with, usually, a lot of people having responses to the same issues... Many times its just the wording that needs to be used, to locate someone else who has had the same issue as someone else, did...

The site admin has made it wonderful by leaving archives on the forums, so past "experiance" can be searched, plus the FAQ's, and the DOC's. ( even though some of this information is a little out of date, it still can have relavence to something )