PDA

View Full Version : Why doesn't HDD install work like Knoppix on the CD?

johnc
10-30-2004, 03:46 PM
I'm pretty new to knoppix/linux so please bear with me.

Knoppix from the CD works great on my HP Pavilion N3370 notebook. However, when I did a HDD install, my network card is not detected and I don't hear the "Initiating Startup Sequence" sound.

Is there any way to have the same startup sequence on the HDD as on the CD?

Thanks

firebyrd10
10-30-2004, 10:53 PM

Knoppix from the CD works great on my HP Pavilion N3370 notebook. However, when I did a HDD install, my network card is not detected and I don't hear the "Initiating Startup Sequence" sound.

Thanks

After a HD install just run the network configure program (In the knoppix menu). As for the sound, I'm not sure.

CrashedAgain
10-31-2004, 04:33 PM

Thanks

Sound: this depends on what type of hd install you did. The startup sounds are there if you did the Knoppix type install but not if you chose the Debian type install. Not sure about the beginner type install. The Debian type install does not use the same autoconfig script as the Knoppix install.

Cuddles
10-31-2004, 05:42 PM

Thanks