PDA

View Full Version : Splitting large files into external FAT32 HD

Tito
11-10-2004, 09:48 PM
Hello people:
I am new to Linux. I posted the message "Saving a large container from a crashed WinXP to external HD". My problem was that the external HD connected thru the USB port was NTFS and i could not make Captive NTFS accept the container. I changed the filesystem in the external HD using QTParted to FAT32. Then i susccessfully copied one 250 mb container simply using the right-click copy and paste. However, when i try the same strategy with the large 4 GB container the process starts fine but then at about 2 GB the writing onto the external HD is stopped and i receive a message like "Process died unexpectedly" (it happened twice) I thought i could split and rejoin the 4 GB container using the split and cat commands but i do not have enough disk space in the local partition (hda1). I do have space in the external HD (sda1 partition) so my question is if there is any simple modification of the split command

split -b 1000m filename filename

to put the split pieces into sda1 rather than hda1. I also want to join the pieces in the sda1 partition before connecting the external HD to another computer that will receive the container.

cat filenamead >> filenameaa

So how do i identify the sda1 partition in the cat command?
Thanks for your help.
Tito

firebyrd10
11-11-2004, 01:59 AM
Hello people: