PDA

View Full Version : Installing KDE 3.2.3 THEMES!!!

mimes
11-11-2004, 07:21 PM
I'm getting pretty tired of the standard themes that come with the preloaded version of KDE 3.2.3 on Knoppix. I went to www.kde-look.org and found some great themes that would look great on my desktop, but I download the files and nothing happens!! I am an extreme newbie and think that I have to compile these files, but I dont know even how to do that!! Could someone help me step-by-step or refer me to a help source?

CrashedAgain
11-12-2004, 12:25 AM
Each posting on kde-look has a 'how to install' beside it. It's pretty brief by try to work though it.
If you run into problems, post again with the specific problem.

mimes
11-13-2004, 04:15 AM
Here's the deal ( and please pardon my ignorance), I know now that KDE 3.2 does NOT come with a theme manager. I know the only way to change my desktop is to go to the Window Decorations section of KDE- LOOK.org and choose the Window Decorations for any KDE that is or above Kde 3.2. I download the .rpm file and convert it to .deb using the "alien" program. i've done all this. I have found a really slick window decoration that I want to use, but I also know that i have to use a program called K Package. When I load the .deb file into KPackage and try to install it, KPackage gives me an error saying: <ix/Downloaded Stuff/crystal_0.7.7-2_i386.deb' ;echo RESULT=$?
dpkg: unable to access dpkg status area: Read-only file system
RESULT=2
- I have no clue what this error means or how to fix it. I know that my HD is readable and writable, so I am a bit stuck at this point. Anyone who could help would be GREATLY appreciated.

CrashedAgain
11-13-2004, 05:33 AM
..... that i have to use a program called K Package. When I load the .deb file into KPackage and try to install it, KPackage gives me an error saying: <ix/Downloaded Stuff/crystal_0.7.7-2_i386.deb' ;echo RESULT=$?
dpkg: unable to access dpkg status area: Read-only file system
RESULT=2