PDA

View Full Version : Making Settings Permanent

pelagic
11-12-2004, 02:43 PM
Hi Folks,

I tried to save my settings of lang/kb/network on one of the partitions of a laptop that I booted with a Knoppix CD. But it saved nothing of the network settings (fixed ip a.s.o.).
So every time I boot from CD I have to re-setup all these things.

Is there some special thing to do to save *all* settings to a disk?

Thanks for any hint!

pelagic

sci_fi
11-12-2004, 06:01 PM
Hello Pelagic,

I am also new to Knoppix but will tell you what I know (or think I know):

Under the "KNOPPIX" section of the KDE menu there is a section to "make a persistent home directory". When you do this Knoppix will ask where to put the home directory, meaning a partition somewhere.

I use a small partition on my hd specially created for this purpose. Also, I sometimes use a special partition on a usb hd as a back-up.

As far as I can tell, cd based Knoppix will not let you directly write to any hd anywhere. I have tried as root and been told nfw by K. This is good as it probably means no hacker or virus can do so either. Knoppix will copy your ram disc home directory to the partition you specifed upon exit.

To get the home directory back when you reboot, use the cheatcode at boot

knoppix home= "the partition you saved to" for example mine is:

knoppix home=/dev/hda3 or knoppix home=/dev/sda2 for my backup.

f2 and f3 at boot wil get you more info on cheatcodes.

Here is a frustrating thing. This process saves your home directory and apparently your settings as well, but ....

Using the cheatcode on re-boot will not restore your settings (say wlan0 or printer), only the home directory.

Now, there is also a section in the KNOPPIX menu to save settings. Similiar to save home directory. It does save the settings and you can recover on reboot with the cheatcode
knoppix myconfig="device".