PDA

View Full Version : Partitioning a HD

mimes
11-14-2004, 03:23 PM
Hi, I have never partitioned a harddrive before, and when it was time to use QT Partitioning thingy, I already had 4 partitions on the harddrive. The main one that contains my old windows 98 system, had like 9GB on it. I reformatted it to a Q3 linux filesystem. I used the other 2GB one for my linux swap, and I also have another partition that has a very few GB on it and one that is empty. They are lined up as follows:
-The non used "free", few GB's one
-The main Linux one
-The Swap
-The empty, useless, "free" partition
I saved the changes, and tried to continue the installation for Knoppix, but it once again said i needed to partition the HD. Then i used the IGNORE_CHECK=1 thing to skip the hd thing. I tried to start the installation, but it ended up giving me a printer error thing in a big standalone window. I said next, then it closed the installation. Please help!! I am an extreme newbie.

firebyrd10
11-14-2004, 06:35 PM
Hi, I have never partitioned a harddrive before, and when it was time to use QT Partitioning thingy, I already had 4 partitions on the harddrive. The main one that contains my old windows 98 system, had like 9GB on it. I reformatted it to a Q3 linux filesystem. I used the other 2GB one for my linux swap, and I also have another partition that has a very few GB on it and one that is empty. They are lined up as follows:
-The main Linux one
-The Swap
I saved the changes, and tried to continue the installation for Knoppix, but it once again said i needed to partition the HD. Then i used the IGNORE_CHECK=1 thing to skip the hd thing. I tried to start the installation, but it ended up giving me a printer error thing in a big standalone window. I said next, then it closed the installation. Please help!! I am an extreme newbie.

Q3 filesystem?

I've never seen that before, but knoppix needs ext3 or resisefs

rich55
11-14-2004, 08:27 PM