PDA

View Full Version : Wifi Problems ... Unable to set essid on Belkin F5D7000uk

sventhebrit
11-14-2004, 06:28 PM
Hi there,

I am a newbie, but have searched the forum and can't find anything to help me. I tried Knoppix yesterday for the 1st time, everything worked OK but I had problems with my wireless network card. I used the ndiswrapper program to install my card and the driver loads correctly. I can use 'iwlist scanning' and it sees my access point and the name (My access point is a USR9106).

I have tried iwconfig wlan0 essid wireless -- with and without quotes around the wireless.
If I use iwconfig wlan0 key keyname it takes the configuration. I can also set other parameters.

I read the man pages for iwconfig and it said use the commit option (iwconfig wlan0 commit) which I tried and it still doesn't work.

Any ideas ?

Thanks
Steve

kelmo
11-14-2004, 09:38 PM
You need to broadcast for an ip adress, or assign one depending on how your router is configured.

So do something like this:-

ifconfig wlan0 up (maybe not neccessar)
iwconfig wlan0 essid wireless key keyname
pump -i wlan0 (ip by dhcp)

sventhebrit
11-16-2004, 07:13 AM
You need to broadcast for an ip adress, or assign one depending on how your router is configured.

So do something like this:-

ifconfig wlan0 up (maybe not neccessar)
iwconfig wlan0 essid wireless key keyname
pump -i wlan0 (ip by dhcp)

Kelmo,
I tried what you suggested, but I still cannot input the essid on the card. When I type 'pump -i wlan0' it just errors after about 40 seconds -- Operation failed. I have another PC with an identical network card -- it tried to get it working on this PC and got the same problem. I have also manually entered the settings (IP adressess, etc)

Do you think this could be driver related. The one I am using is bcmwl5a which was advised in another post. The one that came with the card is bcmwl5 but this just locks the PC when you try to install with the ndiswrapper utility.

Any help appreciated ?