PDA

View Full Version : add new users that can login via X-windows

ted_munga
03-29-2003, 11:32 AM
Hi,

I am very new to both Knopppix and linux, so I hope I'm not asking the obvious as I haven't found the answers in this forum section.

I have managed to remaster knoppix with plip and eth0 automounted with NFS between 2 CDs one server one client.

What I need to do is be able to add users to the remastered CDs and have the client CD force a X-windows login. I have added users by chrooting to the knoppix remaster environment and adduser, after creating the remastered copy and runnning it I can login with the new user but starting X-windows by 'startx' or '/etc/init.d/xsession' fails yet starting it with root works fine.

I would really appreciate any help that anyone could give me.

thanks
ted

A. Jorge Garcia
03-29-2003, 04:09 PM
I would like to do something similar. As I don't have the resources for remastering, how about this?

I'll have my students boot the KNOPPIX CD and then log-in to one PC on the LAN which I will permanently knx-hdinstall and always keep running KNOPPIX (well, Debian actually...). How do I have my students login remotely without xdm? Can I set this up for them to log-in remotely and save their files on the one PC that is installed?

Thanx,

RockMumbles
03-29-2003, 05:42 PM
A.J.G.

On your installed system (your application server) either setup kdm (gdm or xdm, I use gdm) to allow xdmcp, add some user accounts then use knoppix (or morphix, etc.) on your remote terminals.

You would start knoppix on the X-terminals with:

knoppix 2

and then use the command:

X -broadcast