PDA

View Full Version : Need to recover data, please help

blkmagic
11-20-2004, 08:57 AM
I Win XP install corrupted and I loaded knoppix and copies some personal files from the c: ntfs partition to d: fat 32 partition. But after I reinstalled XP I don't see any files listed in my d: drive. The space is taken up but I just don't see any of the files/directories I copied over.

I'm using XP sp2 and the knoppix version I used was 3.55 or 3.52. Please help and tell me how to recover this data. I am a complete newbie to Linux but has a fair degree of knowledge with Windows.

Thanks in advance.

Harry Kuhman
11-20-2004, 09:39 AM
I have no idea why you can't see the files on your second drive, although I would love to hear why when you resolve it. Did you confirm that the files were their in Knoppix? Did you confirm it after the XP reinstall?

I had a bunch of other suggestions to make, but since you already reinstalled, the files are pretty much gone from C. If you can't see them on D from Knoppix then I can't be of much help. If it turns out that you can see then on D then I can give you lots of ideas of how to get those files back (do not write them to the ntfs partition). One technique to recover files when you have a single CD writer on a system is here: http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14781&start=0 , you could also transfer them to another system by e-mail, ftp, or the website yousendit.com (they will let you send and store for 7 days files up to 1 gig in size).

31d1
11-20-2004, 06:19 PM
this may not be useful, but did you make sure to unmount the d: before you rebooted. i swear iread somewhere that not unmounting once data is written could cause problems. i dont know but it might help you look...

OErjan
11-20-2004, 07:18 PM
yes indeed, syncing the disk and unmounting it is recomended.

Harry Kuhman
11-20-2004, 09:49 PM
yes indeed, syncing the disk and unmounting it is recomended.