PDA

View Full Version : New to Knoppix...have some questions

quicksilver1024
11-30-2004, 06:13 AM
Ive read the system requirements for Knoppix already, but I dont know what "Intel compatable" means :? srry i am a complete noob

I am currently using a Sony Vaio (PCV-RX752)
-2A GHZ Intel Pentium 4 Process. (dont know if that means anything)

also, i want to make sure that this OS wont damage anything. Cause i heard from some ppl that after using Linux, some parts of their computer were seriously damaged.

ive been wanting to use a different OS other than windows for quite some time now, and when i read an article about linux, i wanted desperately to try it out.

please help me use this OS, ty

( i am trying out this OS, and if it works as a replacement to windows, i'll use it on my laptop that im getting as a present soon)

quicksilver1024
11-30-2004, 06:16 AM
also, im wondering if running the OS will leave any traces of the OS on my computer...

like the cache when browsing with the browser provided by knoppix

and if there is any link or site that will help me answer my questions and other newbie guides to the OS, please post them

Jameson
11-30-2004, 07:42 AM
My understanding of "Intel Compatabile" is a processor that is made my intel, or a processor that is made by a differnt company that can do the equivilent of an intel processor. So to answer your first question, Yes a Pentium 4 is made by Intel so there should be no problem there.

When your run Knoppix from the CD it does exactly that, "runs from the CD" and if you do save something it is stored in yoru RAM (Random Acess Memory) which is dumped when you turn your computer off, by deafult Knoppix (when running from CD) is set to prevent you from doing any damage. Everything Knoppix uses when running from the CD is removed (Unless you save it to a USB Drive or other media) so no it does not touch any other OS's and will not leave any traces.

Hope this helps,

-Jameson

quicksilver1024
12-01-2004, 11:33 PM