PDA

View Full Version : I want Knoppix

someone28624
12-01-2004, 04:41 AM
I'm a newbie. I've never used Linux before. I'm not the most techie person you will meet, but I can survive in a technical world, especially with some support. And I am ready to try Linux. I mainly want an alternative to Windows and to try something new. I decided to start with Knoppix because I can run it from the cd. I'm already having problems though. I download it, and the file appears on my desk top. I try to open it and it tells me that I need to put my Nero cd in. I do, and it doesn't recognize it. I try to burn just that, and I get an error. Oh well, I just ordered the disk. I'm just too excited to try it to wait for it to get delivered. Here are my questions:

1. Is a web browser included. If so, what?
2. I am a college student and my laptop is hooked up to a network most of the time. I'm running Win XP Pro right now. Will I be able to get on my network with Knoppix?
3. Once I get on will I be able to get to my old files that are saved to my hard drive? I know I will have to use Open Office, but I already have the windows version of Open Office. I know the cd comes with Open Office.
4. Any problems I may expect?
5. Once running Knoppix do I simply restart my computer to go back to windows?
6. Will this be easy enough for me to use, or will I need to memorize codes and stuff like with DOS?

Thanks for you help!

fester13
12-01-2004, 05:27 AM
1. Is a web browser included. If so, what?

Yes, it includes Mozilla and Konquerer

2. I am a college student and my laptop is hooked up to a network most of the time. I'm running Win XP Pro right now. Will I be able to get on my network with Knoppix?

Yes, you may have to enable DHCP, but you should have no problem connecting to your network, connecting to the internet, etc.