PDA

View Full Version : dhcp problem



jon267
12-06-2004, 09:30 PM
i am using version 3.4 installed to HD.I have to run the network card configuration every time i boot up to enable dhcp.Is there a way this can be done automatically on boot.On the start up screen it does show dhcp as starting, it says (backgrounding) after it.Any help appreciated.Thanks.

rrfish72
12-07-2004, 12:02 AM
What type of internet connection are you on? I have dsl and mine would not stick either after a shutdown. This post helped me to fix it:

http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13818&highlight=

This is what was done to this file: Edited /etc/init.d/knoppix-autoconfig
comment out line that reads: pump -i $DEVICE >/dev/null 2>&1 &
and add line : /etc/init.d/networking restart

So it should look like this:

broadcasting for IP.${NORMAL}"
trap 2 3 11
#pump -i $DEVICE >/dev/null 2>&1 &
/etc/init.d/networking restart
trap "" 2 3 11
sleep 1
echo " ${BLUE}(Backgrounding)${NORMAL}"


Hope this helps.

jon267
12-07-2004, 09:45 PM
That's sorted it.dont have to mess around every time i boot.Thanks .Jon