PDA

View Full Version : need help! problem installing Debian on Dell Dimension 3000



linweix
12-08-2004, 06:39 AM
I installed the Debian with kernel 2.6.9 on my new Dell Dimension 3000, everything was fine except I cannot the X windows started. Please help me out!!!

please find XF86Config-4 and XFree86.0.log at:
www.comm.utoronto.ca/~linw/XF86Config-4
www.comm.utoronto.ca/~linw/XFree86.0.log

output for "lspci" command:
0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8363/8365 [KT133/KM133] (rev 81)
0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8363/8365 [KT133/KM133 AGP]
0000:00:07.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 [Apollo Super South] (rev 40)
0000:00:07.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
0000:00:07.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 16)
0000:00:07.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 16)
0000:00:07.4 Bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 [Apollo Super ACPI] (rev 40)
0000:00:07.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50)
0000:00:09.0 Communication controller: Ambient Technologies Inc HaM controllerless modem (rev 02)
0000:00:0c.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8029(AS)
0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: S3 Inc. ProSavage KM133


Thank you very much

eco2geek
12-08-2004, 08:22 AM
Looks like you've got X configured for a color depth your vidcard won't support. Try running

dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86

and choose a lower depth, like 16, and see if that works.

linweix
12-08-2004, 04:18 PM
Thanks for your help.

After I changed it to 16, I was able to get X started. However, the screen looks bad because it only gave me 640x480 and no other choices. Please help me with that.

furthermore, in windows, it works fine for depth 24.

eco2geek
12-09-2004, 12:54 AM
Take a look at this page on Intel's web site, about your chipset:

http://support.intel.com/support/graphics/sb/CS-010512.htm

It suggests checking the amount of memory allocated to your video card in the BIOS.

Take a look at this thread at KernelTrap.org:

http://kerneltrap.org/node/view/1896

It suggests that you need to use the "intel-agp" module rather than the normal "agpgart" module.

linweix
12-09-2004, 01:31 AM
Great help, man.

After I changed the memory setting in the BIOS, it works great. Thank you.