PDA

View Full Version : Old BIOS, no Hard drive

Majii
12-09-2004, 08:59 AM
Ok, I'm brand new to Linux and slowly being converted... (get windows to boot from a CD/ramdisk, heh.) Anyway, I've got an old Dell P100 laptop that I'd like to be able to use linux on since the Hard disk decided to give out on me and well... replaceing it isn't worth the cost. The big problem is that it won't boot off a CD from the bios.

I've tried SBM. I can get the floppy to work in my other systems, but not the laptop.
I've tried btmgr.sourceforge.net, no go there either.

Most of the info I've been able to find is for various linux installs on the HD and well, that's not an option for me. The most likely option I've found so far is LOADLIN, but I can't find anything for booting strait from the floppy to the CD either. I can't even find someone claiming to have done so. I'm not even sure knoppix is a good distribution to try this with, but it's GREAT on my desktop except for the slow part (ramdrive not big enough! MORE! :P ). So honestly, what I really need is a bit of instruction on how to make LOADLIN work without a Hard drive, and possibly reccomendations for a distribution that might better suit my lame (pun intended) laptop.

I suppose specs for the laptop would help eh? Dell Latitude LM, P100, 40Mb Ram (8 onboard). If possible, I'd like to get a graphical interphase and something that can use PCMCIA cards fairly effectively (namely a 3com/megahertz LAN/modem MO# 3CCFEM556B). What I want to do is what I used to do- A little light surfing and AIM over a switch to router to cable setup. That's what I WANT from it. Anything else is just a bonus. (AIM is kind of a bonus too, but it's a bonus I've had for a long time and I'm kind of used to it.)