PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Author for Knoppix book

whil
12-10-2004, 03:17 AM
Please pardon if this is a big breach of ettiquette; different forums have different levels of tolerance for posts such as this. Sometimes I shake my head at (other) clueless publishers who post idiotic questions in forums they don't understand. However, hopefully my circumstances are extenuating enough that you'll forgive....

Long sob story short: I'm a small publisher of narrowly focused software books, originally targeted at database developers, but adding a series of books for Windows folks moving to Linux. We're the most prolific publisher of OpenOffice.org books on the planet (our third just hit the printer last week, and a fourth is in the works.)

Personally, I'm a custom software developer specializing in database apps. I was a Microsoft MVP for 8 years and a Lifetime Achievement Award winner in their development tools division, but was ostracized for life when I switched to Linux and Open Source tools in 2002. I've also written a few books myself.

Anyway, after writing four rather marvelous chapters, the author for my Knoppix Komplete book has sort of had a string of bad luck, getting way behind in his work, and has disappeared. It's not likely that he'll write another word anytime soon, and I have a deadline to meet.

As a result, I'm looking for someone to take over and complete (komplete?) the book. I'm looking for someone who can produce about 150 pages of intermediate level material targeted at a Windows guy who suddenly needs to come up to speed on Knoppix, and needs a bit more hand-holding and thorough tutorial than the online docs, and something more in tune with 'getting started' than the wonderful ORA Hacks book that's recently come out.