PDA

View Full Version : noob qeustion: how to copy files...

bigms
12-12-2004, 02:45 AM
Hello all, i have just finished downloading knoppix, i think 3.2 and i booted from the cd.
i got a black screen with a paint of a cat. this is my first time :)
Any way, all i want is to copy a few files from my c: NTFS drive into my usb storage drive.

well, i guess its pretty easy to do , but i tried a few times with no succeess...
Please , i will appriciate any help.
A step by step explaination will be the best .

thanks!

firebyrd10
12-12-2004, 02:57 AM
First the USB drive cannot be NTFS, is it is you might want to format it to FAT.

Otherwise...

Knoppix automaticly mouts drives as read-only for safty purposes. To change it, right click the USB drive icon (Most likely sda1) go to actions -> change read/write mode.

Now you should be able to copy.
Just be sure to unmount before you remove. Ether shut the computer down or right-click -> unmount (it will say mount if the drive is unmounted)

Harry Kuhman
12-12-2004, 02:59 AM
Hello all, i have just finished downloading knoppix, i think 3.2....
The version number is pretty important here. 3.7 just came out a few days ago. 3.4 and 3.6 were available on most mirrors prior to that, but I wouldn't know where to find 3.2 anymore (although I expect it's out there somewhere). You might have better luck recognizing the USB device with a newer version, so it's pretty important to check that version number (it will be in the name of the iso file you downloaded). It's also very important to check the MD5 sum of what you downloaded, did you do that?