PDA

View Full Version : upgrading 3.6 - 3.7



mkyb14
12-15-2004, 06:15 AM
currently running v3.6 and want to upgrade to v3.7 . are there a simple set of commands to do this after booting up with the 3.7 cd ? or something else that must be done. ? found nothing on google to help in this situation. :(

Harry Kuhman
12-15-2004, 06:24 AM
Shall I go ahead and move this to the HDD Install forum now? :wink:

mkyb14
12-15-2004, 06:29 AM
sure i guess, forum called "general support"

Harry Kuhman
12-15-2004, 06:51 AM
I'm not sure what you're saying. Since you would be running 3.7 when you boot 3.7 I was thinking that you must be talking about Knoppix installed to hd. If that's the case, you'll likely get much better responses to this question there. If you feel I'm trying to throw you out of this section, that's not the case, I just thought your question would get to the people who will best know the answers, not everyone reads all the sections.

mkyb14
12-15-2004, 08:58 AM
ok will do!

CrashedAgain
12-16-2004, 10:03 PM
Wherever this gets posted, the answer is: No, there is not a simple way to upgrade from knoppix 3.6 to 3.7 other than replacing your 3.6 installation with 3.7. You can keep your 3.6 installation up to date by upgrading the individual applications to the latest versions.
Check first to see if there is a big enough difference from 3.6 to 3.7. It may not be worth the effort, especially if you have put a considerable amount of work into setting up your 3.6 installation. I am still using 3.4, I found minimal difference from 3.4 to 3.6. I haven't looked at 3.7 yet, I am currently upgrading instead to kanotix because it is less buggy than knoppix.