PDA

View Full Version : Lucent Winmodem For A Hdd Install I Did

\/\/inblowz
12-15-2004, 09:49 PM
Ok im new to linux and dont understand alot of the terminology yet. i have installed Knoppix to my hdd and found out i have the misfortune of being a lucent winmodem owner.

ive read the article about it lucent winmodems working with knoppix but im still a noob and would like it explained in complete idiot terms for now if thats ok.

CrashedAgain
12-16-2004, 11:34 PM
Ok im new to linux and dont understand alot of the terminology yet. i have installed Knoppix to my hdd and found out i have the misfortune of being a lucent winmodem owner.

ive read the article about it lucent winmodems working with knoppix but im still a noob and would like it explained in complete idiot terms for now if thats ok.

A winmodem is sort of an incomplete modem, instead of having the processing of the signal done by circuitry in the modem it uses the CRU to do the processing. Thus it has less hardware & is cheaper but it needs programming for the CPU which is provided by the manufacturers only for windows.

Most lucent winmodems are supported by the package ltmodem which can only be installed to a HD install. Kanotix (a knoppix spinoff) has ltmodem built in, I would suggest downloading kanotix & trying it to see if your winmodem is supported by ltmodem first. The command in kanotix to set up the modem is 'detect-modem.sh'.

\/\/inblowz
12-17-2004, 08:53 PM
cool thanks. ive got the ltmodem drivers, but i am unfamiliar with running the build module and ltinst2 cmds under root as i installed it as just a copy from the cd and not a multi user setup so im not sure how to login as root to run the cmds.

CrashedAgain
12-18-2004, 05:36 AM
.... i installed it as just a copy from the cd ......