PDA

View Full Version : Dual Monitors Possible?



$hogun
03-31-2003, 04:47 PM
Hi,

I am using the 3.2 version of Knoppix, which i already installed on my hd. The Grafx card is a Ti4200 running on a monitor which also works fine.

Now the prob: I got another Grafx card (a TNT on a PCI-slot) which is also connectet to a monitor. And i can't do the dual monitor thingy!

Is this possible - better: How do I do that?

god
03-31-2003, 04:52 PM
i believe you need xinerama set up and running. Dont ask ME how....

RockMumbles
03-31-2003, 05:56 PM
You will have to set up xinerama manually, I have done it, and could post the important parts of the XF86Config-4 file once I get home.

rock

$hogun
03-31-2003, 07:00 PM
thank u - that would be extreeeemely nice

RockMumbles
04-01-2003, 03:23 AM
Here is the stuff in pieces, in the order you would find them in a knoppix /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file, I'll document stuff as I go, under the quoted sections...


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "XFree86 Configured"
Screen "Screen0"
Screen "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "PS/2 Mouse" "CorePointer"
Option "xinerama"
# Serial Mouse not detected
# USB Mouse not detected
EndSection
...(snip)
- Two edits in the above section: second screen line for Screen1 and Option "xinerama" line.


...(snip)
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
ModelName "IBM 198e"
# These are the DDC-probed settings and modelines
HorizSync 31-48
VertRefresh 59-75
...(snip)

...(snip)
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
ModelName "IBM 198e"
# These are the DDC-probed settings and modelines
HorizSync 31-48
VertRefresh 59-75
...(snip)
- these are NOT the complete sections, just the parts that were different. I had two virtually identical monitors so I just made a copy of the complete monitor section and on the second monitor section changed monitor0 to monitor1. If your monitors are different you may want to hook up your 2nd monitor to your primary video card and run knoppix from cd and copy the created XF86Config-4 file to your hd or a floppy etc. so that you have the monitor settings for each monitor then just copy and paste the new monitor0 section into your existing XF86Config-4 file and change the monitor0's in that section to monitor1's.


...(snip)
Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
# sw_cursor is needed for some ati and radeon cards
#Option "sw_cursor"
#Option "hw_cursor"
#Option "NoAccel"
#Option "ShowCache"
#Option "ShadowFB"
#Option "UseFBDev"
#Option "Rotate"
##***
Identifier "Card0"
##***
# The following line is auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config
Driver "nv"
VendorName "All"
BoardName "All"
BusID "PCI:00:08:00"
EndSection
...(snip)

...(snip)
Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
# sw_cursor is needed for some ati and radeon cards
#Option "sw_cursor"
#Option "hw_cursor"
#Option "NoAccel"
#Option "ShowCache"
#Option "ShadowFB"
#Option "UseFBDev"
#Option "Rotate"
##***
Identifier "Card1"
##***
# The following line is auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config
Driver "ati"
VendorName "All"
BoardName "All"
BusID "PCI:00:09:00"
EndSection
...(snip)
- again these are NOT the complete sections, just the parts that were different. Notice in the above two sections, there are three lines different: Identifier "CardX", Driver "xmodule", and BusID "PCI:xx:yy:zz"
you'll have to get the BusID stuff from either lspci or cat /proc/pci make sure to put it in the form: "PCI:xx:yy:zz"


...(snip)
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultColorDepth 16
...(snip)

...(snip)
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Card1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultColorDepth 16
...(snip)
- these are NOT the complete sections, just the parts that were different. Notice again: two entries, one for Screen0 the other for Screen1, again on my system both sections were identical below these parts since both monitors were the same.

One thing I forgot MAKE SURE to make a backup of your working XF86Config-4 file BEFORE you change anything.

And always remember: if you break it, you get to keep the pieces! ;)

rock

Rink
09-03-2003, 12:57 PM
1. Back up your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4
2. Stop X. Use 'xdm stop' or 'kdm stop'
3. Type 'X -configure'
4. Copy the resultant XF86Config.*** file over /etc/X11/XF86Config-4
5. Restart X

Some of the steps need to be as root. The XF86Config.*** file might be in /root/ if you ran step 3 as root.

That should be it, simple

Simon_Haddad
10-27-2003, 06:41 AM
*******Wow, Rink, you sure know how to cut through the B.S.* I had the exact same problem and now I'm running on two screens.* I expected one double-sized desktop and got two singles instead.* I'm sure I can adapt.*
*******If I can impose on you (or anyone who knows more than me) for some help for myself, I have another problem.* How do I change the settings for my individual monitors? X -config set my primary monitor to 1280x1024, true color, and my secondary monitor to 640x480, 256 colors. I want to have two 1024x768.

Stephen
10-27-2003, 08:38 AM
*******Wow, Rink, you sure know how to cut through the B.S.* I had the exact same problem and now I'm running on two screens.* I expected one double-sized desktop and got two singles instead.* I'm sure I can adapt.*
*******If I can impose on you (or anyone who knows more than me) for some help for myself, I have another problem.* How do I change the settings for my individual monitors? X -config set my primary monitor to 1280x1024, true color, and my secondary monitor to 640x480, 256 colors. I want to have two 1024x768.

You have to start playing with the modes and the default depth in the /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 and make sure you have set the HorizSync and VertRefresh to the correct values for your monitor(s) X sets very low numbers for these and getting it correct for the second monitor should get a better resolution assuming the card and monitor will support what you want. If you need more help post the XF86Config-4 and details on the monitors and video cards.

My XF86Config-4 for reference:


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "XFree86 Configured"
# Identifier "DualHead"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
# Option "xinerama" "on"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
# FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
# FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/truetype"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/ttf-bitstream-vera"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/xfree86-nonfree"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ttf/western"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ttf/decoratives"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
EndSection


Section "Module"
Load "bitmap"
Load "dbe"
Load "vbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "xtrap"
Load "speedo"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc101"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
Option "XkbOptions" "crtl:nocaps"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "True"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

# Acer AcerView 54e
Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize 270 200 # mm
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "API"
ModelName "4536"
HorizSync 30-54
VertRefresh 50-120
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

# Daytek DT-1531D
Section "Monitor"
# DisplaySize 280 210 # mm
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "OEC"
ModelName "15db"
HorizSync 30-69
VertRefresh 40-120
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "NoLogo" "on"
Option "NvAgp" "1"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP, TV"
Option "NoBandWidthTest" "1"

VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "NV17 [GeForce4 MX 440-SE]"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Card1"
Driver "ati"
VendorName "ATI"
BoardName "264VT [Mach64 VT]"
ChipSet "ati"
ChipId 0x5654
ChipRev 0x40
BusID "PCI:0:13:0"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1152x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
# ViewPort 0 0
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Card1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 8
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
# ViewPort 0 0
EndSubSection

EndSection

Simon_Haddad
10-31-2003, 05:35 AM
Okay, Stephen...

I did what you said, using the settings reported by the Knoppix CD (resolutions, color depths, etc.) and my color depths got bumped up to 24 bit on both screens (thank you). Now how do I change my resolutions? I notice a DefaultDepth option but nothing like a DefaultResolution. Now what?

Stephen
10-31-2003, 08:00 AM
Okay, Stephen...

I did what you said, using the settings reported by the Knoppix CD (resolutions, color depths, etc.) and my color depths got bumped up to 24 bit on both screens (thank you). Now how do I change my resolutions? I notice a DefaultDepth option but nothing like a DefaultResolution. Now what?

The default resolution is in the Modes line for the depth selected the first one on the line being used as the default if the monitor and card support it, so on this line 1024x768 is the default:


Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"


Have you checked what the resolution you are running at now by opening the Info Center (in the System menu) and going into the Xservers option and checking the screens? If this shows you are still running at the lower resolution post the XF86Config-4 so we can look at it and some information on the cards.

Simon_Haddad
11-01-2003, 08:22 AM
Here's my XF86Config-4 as it is now:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "XFree86 Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "dri"
Load "extmod"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "xtrap"
Load "speedo"
Load "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize 320 240 # mm
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "VSC"
ModelName "A70"
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
Option "DPMS" "true"
VendorName "IBM"
ModelName "IBM08bb"
HorizSync 30 - 54 # DDC-probed
VertRefresh 50 - 120 # DDC-probed
# These are the DDC-probed settings reported by your monitor.
# 1280x1024, 75.0Hz; hfreq=79.98, vfreq=75.03
ModeLine "1280x1024" 135.00 1280 1296 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
# 1024x768, 75.0Hz; hfreq=60.02, vfreq=75.03
ModeLine "1024x768" 78.75 1024 1040 1136 1312 768 769 772 800 +hsync +vsync
# 800x600, 85.0Hz; hfreq=53.67, vfreq=85.06
ModeLine "800x600" 56.25 800 832 896 1048 600 601 604 631 +hsync +vsync
# 800x600, 60.0Hz; hfreq=37.88, vfreq=60.32
ModeLine "800x600" 40.00 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync
# 640x480, 85.0Hz; hfreq=43.27, vfreq=85.01
ModeLine "640x480" 36.00 640 696 752 832 480 481 484 509 -hsync -vsync
# 640x480, 75.0Hz; hfreq=37.50, vfreq=75.00
ModeLine "640x480" 31.50 640 656 720 840 480 481 484 500 -hsync -vsync
# 640x480, 60.0Hz; hfreq=31.47, vfreq=59.94
ModeLine "640x480" 25.17 640 648 744 784 480 482 484 509 -hsync -vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: [i]: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "Dac6Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "Dac8Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "DMAForXv" # [<bool>]
#Option "ForcePCIMode" # [<bool>]
#Option "CCEPIOMode" # [<bool>]
#Option "CCENoSecurity" # [<bool>]
#Option "CCEusecTimeout" # [i]
#Option "AGPMode" # [i]
#Option "AGPSize" # [i]
#Option "RingSize" # [i]
#Option "BufferSize" # [i]
#Option "Display" # <str>
#Option "PanelWidth" # [i]
#Option "PanelHeight" # [i]
#Option "ProgramFPRegs" # [<bool>]
#Option "UseFBDev" # [<bool>]
#Option "VideoKey" # [i]
#Option "ShowCache" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "ati"
VendorName "ATI Technologies Inc"
BoardName "Rage 128 PD/PRO TMDS"
BusID "PCI:1:11:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: [i]: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "ColorKey" # [i]
#Option "CacheLines" # [i]
#Option "Dac6Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "DRI" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoDDC" # [<bool>]
#Option "ShowCache" # [<bool>]
#Option "XvMCSurfaces" # [i]
Identifier "Card1"
Driver "i810"
VendorName "Intel Corp."
BoardName "82810E DC-133 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller]"
BusID "PCI:0:1:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Card1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 32
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection
I don't have any resolutions configured for Screen0, but Screen1 is the one giving me trouble. I used the device configurations reported to me by the Knoppix CD for Card0, Card1, Monitor1, and Screen1, and the X -configure settings for Monitor0 and Screen0 (and everything else). I also double-checked, and my Screen1 is running at 800x600, not 640x480 as I previously thought. I just looks really low because the other screen is running at 1280x1024. Whoops... scratch that. The other screen is running at 1400x1050 (yikes).

By the way, sometimes I screw up the XF86Config-4 file and get two blank screens when I restart X. Is there a keyboard shortcut I can use to get into text/command-line mode from there?

pau1knopp
01-08-2006, 03:35 PM
I wasted a day getting this going with even minimal success on KNX 4.0.2 till I tried using Rinks suggestion to generate a XF86Config-4 replacement file with all my hardware installed. I figured it could NOT be that easy. Apparently it is.

Using "init 3" from a root shell to exit KDE, I ran the "X -configure" command (as root) and copied the resulting XF86Config.new file to /etc/X11 as XF86Config-4. I restarted KDE using the "init 5" command. Thinks were functional as both montiors worked, but FAR less than perfect (goofy resolution, mismatched color depth, screens went black and white when running xawtv, etc.).

So I used XF86Config-4 files saved from separate live CD boots as a reference on what was needed; first I installed just the card and monitor i was using for monitor0. After saving the XF86Config-4 file for monitor0, I removed that card and monitor, and performed the same steps using the hardware for monitor1.

Using the information from the two additional files, I modified the file created using "X -configure". Happy to report that things work spectacularly now.

I may have to get an additional card now so that I can span three monitors...

This post was invaluable in getting this going. Thanks all...