PDA

View Full Version : Problems Ejecting CDROM

Knopper12
12-16-2004, 12:33 AM
Hi,
I am new to Knoppix, recently installed 3.7 to my hard drive, and its working relatively well.
Two problems currently are in my way:
Firstly, if I put in a CD, say an mp3 cd into my rom when in knoppix, I can play it fine without any problems, but then for some reason knoppix does not let me eject it. If I right-click on the desktop icon and say eject, it gives me an error saying
Eject /dev/cdrom failed!

After reading through the forums etc.. I discovered that this was because it could not unmount the cd, I tried to do that from the Konqueror explorer, but then it gave me this error
"unmount: /mnt/auto/cdrom is not in the fstab (and you are not root)
Please check that the disk is entered correctly."

When I setup my Knoppix, I followed the instructions and set it up under the "beginner" mode. As far as I know, I should be the default root.

To let you know, I have two cd roms, the problem occurs for both.
Here is my fstab, incase you need it:

# /etc/fstab: filesystem table.
#
# filesystem mountpoint type options dump pass
/dev/hda3 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1

proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/fd0 /floppy vfat defaults,user,noauto,showexec,umask=022 0 0
usbdevfs /proc/bus/usb usbdevfs defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/cdrom1 /cdrom1 iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/dvd /dvd iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/cdaudio /cdaudio iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/cdrom1 /mnt/auto/cdrom1 auto users,noauto,exec,ro 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 ntfs noauto,users,exec,ro,umask=000 0 0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hda2 none swap defaults 0 0