PDA

View Full Version : After school program using Knoppix

msouden
12-17-2004, 06:22 PM
Hi All,

I'm a Linux newbie, and Knoppix might be able to really help out on a project I'm coordinating. Let me explain:

A nonprofit I work for is starting up an after school Science program for Middle Schoolers. The program has middle schoolers working with College volunteers on different little science projects (depending on their interest areas) and then building web sites about their experiments. It's fun, low budget, and a pilot run at the program.

Here's the challenge- the computer lab in the hosting school consists of older I-macs (OS 9) with absurd security measures in place- we can't save files to the desktops, let alone install any software. There is no server space available to us from the school system, and their version of making web pages consists of using AppleWorks and saving the documents as HTML.

I'd like to give these kids an experience more real-world in nature. We thought running a Knoppix live CD on several of these I-macs and having the kids build their simple sites using Mozilla Composer. Because we're working with 11-year-olds we need to make it as easy as possible, so running off of a live CD would be great.

We planned on using 8-12 Knoppix CDs for this project. (1 per group of 5) What I'm wondering is how feasible is it configure these Live CDs:

1. To run on older I-macs currently on OS9.

2. Is it possible to configure Knoppix with some sort of virtual drive setup so they could save files directly to the Nonprofit's dedicated server space- or use the Gmail Drive application with some dedicated gmail accounts? This would avoid having to teach 11-year-olds the intricacies of FTP or having to invest in USB drives.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

UnderScore
12-17-2004, 07:08 PM