PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix is very nice, but I forced to switch back to win xp

wilson001
12-19-2004, 09:58 PM
I have to say knoppix is a very nice...... not only the "outside look", but also it's power to perform many things...... and the idea of live CD is excellent....... However, I tried to use it in my vaio laptop...... I couldn't get my dvd drive to work in knoppix and since I have a lot of things on disc...... if knoppix couldn't use my dvd drive, then it just become completely useless and I guess I have to switch back to microsoft windows xp instead.

The error I got is as follows :
Unable to run the command specified, The file or folder

file:/mnt/cdrom does not exist

I try to use ln -sf /dev/cdrom /dev/dvd and still didn't work ( May be my command isn't correct, I am just a beginner to Linux )......

baldyeti
12-19-2004, 10:23 PM
file:/mnt/cdrom does not exist
From the above error message, maybe it's just the mount point that's missing rather than the device entry in /dev. Try to simply create a /mnt/cdrom folder...

Harry Kuhman
12-19-2004, 11:21 PM
...the idea of live CD is excellent....... However, I tried to use it in my vaio laptop...... I couldn't get my dvd drive to work......
Were you using the Live CD, as your comment suggests, or were you using Knoppix instaled to hard drive? If installed on a hard drive then I'm not too surprised (I'm much more surprised when someone installs Knoppix to a hard drive and doesn't have problems), but if so your post really should be in the hdd install forum. If from CD then I'm not sure how you expected to use the DVD drive; I've never seen a notebook with more than one DVD/CD drive and the KNoppix CD has to stay in the drive it booted from while running (unless you have a gig of memory and use the toram option, which you also didn't mention).

wilson001
12-20-2004, 07:28 AM
...the idea of live CD is excellent....... However, I tried to use it in my vaio laptop...... I couldn't get my dvd drive to work......