PDA

View Full Version : 3.2 is it worth it?

Coma0
04-01-2003, 01:02 AM
Hey all
I'm fairly new to this, and I'm actually a Morphix man myself :wink:. I haven't used Knoppix at all yet. On to my main point. I haven't really heard anything good about 3.2. So is it worth it? Or should I just use 3.1 until 3.2 stablizes. (It seems as though there is an update almost everyday!) Thanks in advance.

RockMumbles
04-01-2003, 02:46 AM
I can't even decide how to vote on this one, so I'm not going to.

3.1 is faster, and works good. 3.2 is slower and for the most part works good, but some of the new features are just now getting fixed.

I have dl'ed 3-23 (it was a bad dl), 3-24 (which is OK), and am presently getting 3-30, the versions prior to 3-26 didn't function properly as far as reloading your saved configuration and/or home files, actually I can get either to work by themselves, but not both together.

rock

Coma0
04-01-2003, 10:24 PM
The reason I was asking is that I only have a modem :(. So downloading a version of Knoppix is a major undertaking.

RockMumbles
04-01-2003, 10:45 PM
Where do you live?

I've had 3.2 rel.3-24 up on a computer at school now for a day plus and it seems to be OK. Any minute now I should have the 3-30 iso written to cd. I'm interested in getting it going, I have to manually edit the XF86Config-4 file on this computer, and I also get tired of re-configuring the printer, so I'm hoping that the myconfig and home boot options work properly on 3-30.

rock

good_karma69
04-02-2003, 09:43 PM
Knoppix is at the opposite end of distros like Slackware, both of which I love and use on a daily basis, the former for demos and remastering and the latter for everything else.

Slackware has always been about stable, fast technologies on a no-bloat, simple system, thats fast, reliable, easy to use and no unnecessary complication or over-simplification (im looking at YOU red hat!).