PDA

View Full Version : question about partitioning with qtparted



jehan60188
12-21-2004, 11:43 PM
I have 4 gigs of free space on my laptop (according to windows), that I wanna use for knoppix.
When I put the knoppix CD in, everything works fine, and I get started.
When I fire up qtparted, it shows a big hunk being used by windows (in which there is the 4 free gigs that I want to use)
If I scroll qtparted over (like to shrink the size of that partition) will I lose data? I have hearrd that it's non destructive, but I would like some confirmation from the community.
Thanks!

firebyrd10
12-22-2004, 12:12 AM
Correct it will not destroy the data

(Of course the is always that off chances, so you may want to back up, but no problems have been reported and I didn't have to use my backup.)

jehan60188
12-22-2004, 01:36 AM
ok, so it'll take that space not from some contiguous chunk, but instead from wherever it finds that there are no files on it, right?
Or will it rearrange the files until it makes a chunk that's 4 gigs large?

rrfish72
12-22-2004, 02:41 AM
DEFRAGAMENT FIRST TO GET THE FILES TO THE BEGINNING OF THE PARTITION AND TO FREE UP MORE SPACE FOR YOUR OTHER NEW PARTITION.

firebyrd10
12-22-2004, 03:06 AM
Or will it rearrange the files until it makes a chunk that's 4 gigs large?

Correct, thats the safer route, I do know that the new ntfsresizer program can move around fragments, but thats just more room for error.