PDA

View Full Version : mount drives knoppix 3.4



plener
12-23-2004, 12:35 AM
totally frustrated read man pages etc

what is the mount point for the dvd and the cdrom

i assume its something like mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/ ?

or mount /dev/dvd /mnt/ ?

exhused by this by now

tia
peter

chris-harry
12-23-2004, 01:20 AM
"/mnt/cdrom" to find the cd rom... and i guessing "/mnt/dvd/", of course, if you cant find it, then just look threw the file /dev/ to find something simular...

plener
12-23-2004, 01:58 AM
i have--see fstab
nothing is making any sense

rrfish72
12-23-2004, 01:59 AM
Check your fstab, but it usually is /cdrom and /dvd. What are you trying to do?

plener
12-23-2004, 04:08 AM
i am trying to mount my cdrom, cdrom1 and my dvd

rrfish72
12-23-2004, 04:21 AM
Are you running live cd or a hd install? You cannot mount an audio cd, must be opened with a player- kaffeine,xine,xmms. You can mount a dvd by clicking the icon but it will only show you the contents of the files and not run the movie, this also must be done with a player.

plener
12-23-2004, 01:52 PM
running knoppix from hard drive

i want to see the contents of my cdrom and my dvd

i have given up trying to find the mount point--i get errors like
when i clik on the icons for cdrom

file or directory /mnt/cdrom does not exist
when i
cd /mnt/cdrom

and ls -al

i see the directory

CrashedAgain
12-24-2004, 01:07 AM
totally frustrated read man pages etc

what is the mount point for the dvd and the cdrom

i assume its something like mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/ ?

or mount /dev/dvd /mnt/ ?

exhused by this by now

tia
peter

Are you using the 2.6 kernel? cdrom & dvd are both mounted by automounter, the mount point is /cdrom & /dvd but this was not properly implemented in Knoppix 3.4. The devices are actually /dev/scd0 & /dev/scd1 (I think, scd0 is correct for cdrom but I don't have a dvd drive) but the system is set up to call these deices /dev/cdrom & /dev/dvd. These need to be linked to /dev/scd0 & /dev/scd1. If you have done a debian style install I think all you should have to do is create the links:

ln -s /dev/scd0 /dev/cdrom
ln -s /dev/scd1 /dev/dvd

If you have done a knoppix style install this will get deleted with each boot. I solved the problem by editing /etc/init.d/knoppix-autoconfig (approximately line 228)

if ! checkbootparam "nohwsetup"; then
rm -f /dev/cdrom* /dev/cdwriter* /dev/mouse* /dev/modem* /dev/scanner* \
/etc/sysconfig/i18n /etc/sysconfig/keyboard /etc/sysconfig/knoppix \
2>/dev/null

# modified by CrashedAgain create link for /dev/cdrom for 2.6 kernel only
if [ "${KERNEL:0:3}" == "2.6" ]; then
ln -sf /dev/scd0 /dev/cdrom
fi

fi


Everything should work with the 2.4 kernel though; if it doesn't you may have some other problems.

styven
01-10-2005, 10:22 AM
Sorry, this was no meant to be a post to this post....................

I am using juk as my music player (wanted to use amarok but that's another story!!!), but when i press play i get nothing.

I am missing something here as when i used kscd to play cds i just put the cd in and it saw it, listed the tracks etc. Also how do i transfer the cd to the player with all the track listing etc so i can play it straight from the pc without the cd in. I do not seem to be able to mount the cdrom/dvdrom drive to be able to tranfer the files, get the following error message............

Unable to run the command specified. The file or folder file:/mnt/cdrom does not exist.

What i want to do going forward is tranfer all my cd's to the pc and play them via a media player with tarcks listed etc, but i am stumbling early on and really do not want to resort to XP.

New to linux, home built pc, celeron 1.8 , 256mb, knoppix hdd install.

Cheers Steve.

mountain_muller
01-19-2005, 05:43 AM
hello, I see it has been a while since you posted, not sure wether you gave up, or found the solution.

In case you gave up, or didn't post your solution for others, I'll print my findings on the same problem.

I'm using a knoppix 3.3 hd-install (debian type); k7 triton motherboard (Gigabyte);amd2000.

I found my dvd and cd-rom's at....
/dev/hdd & /dev/hdc
....respectively.

then I made the appropriate links.

hope it helps,
ciao for now,
:wink: mountain_muller@hotmail.com

mountain_muller
01-19-2005, 05:54 AM
p.s.!!! :oops:

my drives are both "lite-on"

and they are connected (cd-rom(only one) master, dvd slave) to the second IDE, my hard drives being in the first.


hope this info helps some-one!

Rumo
01-19-2005, 10:21 AM
Then they should be /dev/hdb and /dev/hdd (or perhaps /dev/hdc and /dev/hdd?).

Anyway you can try mounting them (as root):


mkdir /mnt/dvd
mount /dev/hdd /mnt/dvd


I hope this will help.

plener
01-19-2005, 01:26 PM
i finally found mine at
dev/sr0 for cdrom
dev/sr1 for dvd

then
i ln -sf sr0 /dev/cdrom
and ln -sf sr1 /dev/cdrom1 for dvd


hth
peter