PDA

View Full Version : 3.6 hd install help



CheshireCatalyst
12-23-2004, 03:04 PM
I did a HD install from knoppix 3.6...when the bios passes control it loads grub...and then stops at the grub prompt...i'm not really a grub person. Everything installed fine, well except for the fact that it installed grub and not lilo as i asked it to. And i mean...i'm not trying to do anything fancy...no dual boots...just a 20 gig quantum fireball and knoppix. So some advice on perhaps making grub do it's job or requesting some more information so that someone could better understand and help me would be appreciated.

eon
12-25-2004, 05:58 AM
Merry Christmas/Happy Holidays!

It sounds like the MBR is messed up. Did you ever have grub on this drive, and what
OS was on the drive previously? I'm running 3.4 and I had a chance to make a floppy
I don't know if 3.6 gives you that option but it is a good idea to make a boot floppy when
you're doing the install.

A google search produced this page: http://linuxplanet.com/linuxplanet/tutorials/5361/4/
And at page bottom there is a how-to on re-installing grub from your knoppix live CD.

Good Luck-hope this helps!

chris-harry
12-25-2004, 10:32 AM
hopefully this is useful if you wanna installl lilo http://www.geocities.com/SiliconValley/2072/proc10.htm