PDA

View Full Version : NTFS Install Steps?

abstar
12-25-2004, 10:13 PM
Hello,

I am considering installing Knoppix(2.6 Kernel)on my ancient Compaq Presario laptop (160 MB RAM, 400 MHz) and setting it up as a dual boot along with Win XP Pro. I have a 20 gig hard disk (no partitions) and it has around 9.5 gigs free on it. The HD uses the NTFS system. I was wondering if anyone could provide a step by step as to how to install Knoppix to a NTFS drive without data loss, how to partition and finally how to set it up so that there is a dual boot option at startup. I am pretty new to all this, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

ZeroKun
12-26-2004, 04:27 PM
You cant install it on an NTFS partition, create a new one with QParted and make it either ext2 or ext3, then follow the install guides provided on this site.

Alterscape
12-26-2004, 04:59 PM
I think his question was, "can I resize NTFS partitions with QParted without losing data?" AFAIK, the answer is no -- Parted doesn't support NTFS resizing. I know a product called PartitionMagic can, but it is payware.

OErjan
12-26-2004, 06:29 PM
ntfs resize is incorporated into qtparted as far as i know. it can move the end of a partition only (atleast larst i heard) but...
and best to defrag tha partition a few times just to be sure.

abstar
12-26-2004, 07:10 PM
Ok, I'm getting conflicting responses here. Is it safe to use QParted with a 20 GB NTFS HD with the current version of Knoppix to create the the 2 partitions needed (Knoppix+Swap) for a full HD install?

That aside, the dual boot, will I be prompted to set that up within the Knoppix installer, if not, how do i go about accessing it?

A

ZeroKun
12-26-2004, 11:34 PM
The drive isnt NTFS, one of your partitions is. If you have enough room you can create more than one partition, but you might need to resize the NTFS one like the other people said. If you have more than 384mb of ram, I would say that it is possible to do without the swap partition.

abstar