PDA

View Full Version : I always hated Windows...

A.O.Q.
12-29-2004, 06:59 AM
I am new to Knoppix but I always hated windows/internet explorer/microsoft and any of the other shit programs that came with computers. I want to install Knoppix on my hardrive and not use windows at all. I read one of the other threads about installing Knoppix but I have some hesitations about my computer skills. Who else on here has done this? Or is there another derivative of linux that is relatively easy to learn and use that i could/should try? Also I only have 64 mb of ram and programs run rather slow. Would speed increase if Knoppix was installed instead of running off the disc? Anyone, anyone, anyone...

rrfish72
12-29-2004, 08:00 AM
Kanotix is a very good derivative of knoppix-debian based- that you should try. Maybe too low of RAM to try that: http://kanotix.com/files/kanotix/ . Goto a konsole and sudo knoppix-installer-latest-web to get the latest installer going but sudo knoppix-installer will work fine too. Follow through the steps and away you go. There are certain things that have to be met first, like a linux partition and a swap partition. Once these are created then all should go well.

chris-harry
12-29-2004, 01:12 PM
to really speed things up... i have only got 48 Mb of ram... and knoppix runs smoothly... and there isnt thata steep learning curve... nothing you cant do... :D