PDA

View Full Version : KNOPPIX HARD DRIVE INSTALL =NO NO

bugsy
12-30-2004, 12:58 AM
hiya im new to linux and have two pcs.ones a dual boot =windows xp pro and fedora core 3 and the other i want just for linux.ive tried putting debian and gentoo but keep getting problems so i thought id try knoppix.
ive partitioned my hard drive which is 10 gig and rebooted.it runs through the detection and get stuck at scanning for hard drive partitions and creating/etc/fstab....
ANY HELP IS APPRECIATED :oops:

shah
12-30-2004, 02:04 AM
try cheatcode: nodma

:D

bugsy
12-30-2004, 02:07 AM
where do i type that in as ist booting

bugsy
12-30-2004, 02:10 AM
typed in nodma and got error .....could not find kernal image

Harry Kuhman
12-30-2004, 02:17 AM
typed in nodma and got error .....could not find kernal image
That's 'cause nodma isn't the name of a valid kernel. What you wanted to type in was knoppix nodma or knoppix26 nodma.

(opps, transposed 2 characters. It's now fixed. I don't think it confused anyone, but no sense leaving bad info here for future readers. Thanks CrashedAgain for the catch.)

bugsy
12-30-2004, 02:22 AM
just trying it now thanx

bugsy
12-30-2004, 02:30 AM
got that done now ive a coloured desktop screen with a window inside saying shell in the top left corner. inside the window i got a prompt line saying
knoppix@ttyp0[knoppix]$
could you tell me what i goota do now

Harry Kuhman
12-30-2004, 02:38 AM
got that done now ive a coloured desktop screen with a window inside saying shell in the top left corner. inside the window i got a prompt line saying
knoppix@ttyp0[knoppix]$
could you tell me what i goota do now
That's certainly not what I see when I boot a KNoppix CD! Just what did you type at the boot prompt? Anything else you want to tell us about any error messages that might have come up while Knoppix was booting? I gave both the knoppix and the knoppix26 options above, does the other one from whichever you tried produce the same result?

bugsy