PDA

View Full Version : Windows and Knoppix together on same HD

webgal318
01-05-2005, 07:11 AM
I am new to this. I have Windows XP professional OS.

I would like to try Linux to get the flavor of this system.

How do I go about getting started? I want Windows to be my primary OS.

Thank you for your help.

Sylvia

Jameson
01-05-2005, 07:17 AM
It's possible to dual-boot if you partition correctly, Heres what I did.

First I made the following partitions (On a 40GB HD)

First 15 Gigs - Windows XP Pro

Next 1500MB - Linux Swap

Last 23GB - ex2 linux filesystem.

That can all be done with QTParted (Under the K Icon, System, QTParted)

Then I installed knoppix (I'm assuming thats what your going to try) and put Lilo (Bootloader) on the MBR when prompted to do so. Lilio will automaticaly give you a choice between XP and Knoppix at boot, It's great beacuse it auto-detects everything.

BTW - A good rule to go by for your swap partition (which is required) is to make it 2x the size of your ram. 256 MB ram, 500MB swap, 512MB ram, 1GB swap.

-Jameson

rrfish72
01-05-2005, 07:22 AM
Do you have the iso downloaded and burned to cd? Anyhow, yes they both can exist on the same hd. When and if you do decide to install then you need to have a linux partition and a swap partition available, aside from your usual XP partition. These are not hard to create and there are many posts to help you.
If you install make sure you install the bootloader to the mbr, this will insure that you can dual boot your system. The knoppix installer automatically detects the XP install and adds it as a choice to lilo (LInux LOader).

stukennedyuk
01-05-2005, 10:05 PM