PDA

View Full Version : Can't Mount hda1 from my network

Skaster
01-05-2005, 04:50 PM
I'm on a network, and I'm trying to mount my harddrive on Knoppix, however, when I type in:

mount /dev/hda1

I'm given this message:

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda1, or too many mounted file systems

I realize that I am mounting a harddrive with a few hundred users on it. Is this the problem? I'm new to Linnux, so I don't have an extensive knowledge yet, but I'm learning. If you could help me, that would be greatly appreciated.

Harry Kuhman
01-05-2005, 07:21 PM
I'm on a network, and I'm trying to mount my harddrive on Knoppix, however, when I type in:

mount /dev/hda1

I'm given this message:

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda1, or too many mounted file systems

I realize that I am mounting a harddrive with a few hundred users on it. Is this the problem? I'm new to Linnux, so I don't have an extensive knowledge yet, but I'm learning. If you could help me, that would be greatly appreciated.
What type of network? What do you mean there are a few hundred users on the hard drive? Is this drive (partition actually) that you are trying to mount actually on the computer that Knoppix is running on, or is it elsewhere on the network? Do you see a littel icon on the Knoppix desktop that says "hda1"? Can you open it by clicking that?

Skaster
01-05-2005, 07:27 PM
The network is just the Novell for Windows with a few hundred clients able to access the network. The partition I'm trying to mount is the main C: drive. I need to get at the config/ folder to do a password recovery. I can't open hda1 by clicking on the icon because it isn't mounted yet.

Harry Kuhman
01-05-2005, 07:42 PM
The network is just the Novell for Windows.... I can't open hda1 by clicking on the icon because it isn't mounted yet.