PDA

View Full Version : Wirelesslan setup.

VeeDubb
04-02-2003, 01:39 PM
I don't expect anybody to walk me through it, but could somebody point me in the direction of where to look for info on setting up a wireless lan through linux? What I'm trying to do is set up an Ad-Hoc 802.11b network between a Linux box (primary) a Windows laptop and a windowsCE PDA.

Keep in mind I'm new to linux and network were never my thing under windows anyway.

garyng
04-02-2003, 02:29 PM
I use this command

iwconfig eth0 essid "your essid" enc "your WEP key, if there is any"

VeeDubb
04-02-2003, 08:24 PM
I use this command

iwconfig eth0 essid "your essid" enc "your WEP key, if there is any"

Error for wireless request "Set Encode" (8B2A) :
too few arguments

I have a standard PCI wired network adpter and a my WiFi is also PCI. I tried eth0 and eth1, sme response. My ssid is fordprefect and I am not useing wep

aay
04-02-2003, 10:55 PM
Run wlcardconfig. It will walk you through the setup. You may need to run netcardconfig afterwards (at least I do) to set up dhcp.

VeeDubb
04-02-2003, 11:44 PM
Well, that sort of worked, maybe. But I can't find it with any other systems. I have a WinCE handheld and an XP laptop on the same chanel with the sameessid and wep and they can't see the desk.

Here is the complete output from the file you had me run:

+ '[' NO = NO ']'
+ rm /etc/pcmcia/wireless.opts
+ echo '# Wireless LAN adapter configuration file /etc/pcmcia/wireless.opts'
+ echo '# written by wlcardconfig (C) Eckhard Rüggeberg'
+ echo '# Sorry for the clumsy syntax, but I have to have everything in one'
+ echo '# line for every card. This is a MaGiC nUmBeR.'
+ echo '# For the original file see in /KNOPPIX/etc/pcmcia/'
+ echo ''
+ echo 'case "$ADDRESS" in'
+ writeline
+ OURLINE=
+ '[' -n '' ']'
+ '[' -n Ad-Hoc ']'
+ iwconfig eth0 mode Ad-Hoc
+ OURLINE= MODE="Ad-Hoc";
+ '[' -n 11 ']'
+ iwconfig eth0 channel 11
+ OURLINE= MODE="Ad-Hoc"; CHANNEL="11";
+ '[' -n '' ']'
+ '[' -n '' ']'