PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbie ... loves Knoppix!! Help with HDD Install?

silicosick
04-02-2003, 06:11 PM
Hello all

I am new here. I downloaded and burned the Knoppix CD last night on reccomendation from a friend. I booted it and I simply love it. I have an older system and am wondering how to install it to my hard drive (creating a dual boot with Win 2K) so that I can save things and have it run faster

I know nothing about Linux.

Can anyone help please ?

Thanx in Advance

Henk Poley
04-02-2003, 06:34 PM
I know nothing about Linux.
Then I suggest you work with knoppix from CD, at least for some time...
I hope you have a FAT32 partition on your HD so you can store the persistant home (don't try with NTFS).

Btw, there is lots of documentation around. Even on this site, hint hint... ;-)

silicosick
04-02-2003, 07:19 PM
I do have a couple FAT32 partitions on my drive

is there a way to make knoppix save my settings to the HDD so that I dont have to reconfigure every time I reboot ?

qa1433
04-02-2003, 07:45 PM
There are two ways to save your configurations.

K>Knoppix>Save Config
K>Knoppix>Persistent Home

There is a how to to accomplish this.
Please see url below
http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/PersistentHomeHowTo

Have fun,
paul 8)

silicosick
04-02-2003, 07:46 PM
T H A N K Y O U !

rickenbacherus
04-03-2003, 05:25 AM
am wondering how to install it to my hard drive (creating a dual boot with Win 2K)

First - the standard disclaimer- If you have important data- back it up first!!! ALWAYS make the boot floppy when asked to do so!!!

Nothing could be easier! You can surf the web WHILE YOU INSTALL! - try that with windows. Make sure everything works as you want it before you install. Be aware however that some things can only be changed if you install.

Leave your win2k install as is- it's easier if it is installed first anyway.
To install Knoppix: (yes there are other methods)
open a terminal
sudo /usr/local/bin/knx-hdinstall
and just follow along.