PDA

View Full Version : Configuring Internet via LAN - first steps

karo
01-11-2005, 07:13 PM
Hi!

I installed Knoppix yesterday on hd and it went surprinsingly smooth, considering this is my first try with linux.

Here are some very basic q's: I want to connect to the internet via LAN (works with XP) in my dormitory.

The information our network team provides includes:

IP, E-Mail adress, Subnet mask, IP-Gateway, DNS Server, POP3 Server, News Server but also a password and a name for the server to recognize me. It is written for WinXP, so it works easily there. My question is: How do I setup Knoppix with these information?

I tried from the launch bar: Knoppix -> Network/ Internet -> Network card configuration

It then asks me if it should try dhcp broadcasting, but that doesn't work.

Then I am asked for

1. IP (which I have)
2. Network mask (which I have)
*3. Braodcast adress (Not sure about that, is that the same as my IP? What should I type here?)
4. Gateway (which I have)
*5. Nameserver (What is that? What should I type here?)

I couln't solve points 3 and 5. Also there has to be a field where I type in my PC's name and password, so he can recognize me, right? Where do I do this?

Sorry for the lenghty post, but I tried to describe my difficulty as good as possible. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I also have two bonus questions (please bear with me):
1. How do I disable automatic hardware detection while booting? Is there something similar to an autoexec.bat I have to edit? If so, where does the new entry belong to?

2. Is there something similar to a cisco client in linux? It would be great to have wireless internet in the library.

Thank you so much for your answers!
Karolina

Harry Kuhman
01-11-2005, 08:11 PM
....Here are some very basic q's: I want to connect to the internet via LAN (works with XP) in my dormitory......