PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with Kppp exit status 19

Darkman348
01-12-2005, 07:31 AM
Hi I'm a newbie and I'm trying to connect to my ISP through Kppp. I using knoppix off the cd and I'm liking it alot, but for me to use it more I would like to be able to dail into my ISP. When I dailup it connects then it boots me off and gives me "Exit status 19". From what I have learn it a username and password error. I have no idea how to fix the problem.

The interesting thing is that when I tried to log on using the terminal window and it connected and asked for my username I put that in fine and then it asked for my password and it wouldn't let me type anything like the keyboard was frozen. Why would it let me put it my username then not my password. If that was happening when I connected normally would that be the reason I got the error? Has anybody seen this problem before?

I could really use some help. I search through the forums but I did find anything so I decided to post. I would really like to use knoppix more, but I need to have internet access. Could someone help me please.

eon
01-12-2005, 03:28 PM
If you type "man pppd" and the enter key at a terminal you will have alot of reading material.
"19 We failed to authenticate ourselves to the peer" is the exact defination from the manual.

Sometimes this means that noauth has not been selected in kppp or in the /etc/ppp/options file.
There are other files that could be causing this problem too. You can try putting "noauth" in the kppp
options set up. Usually this option is already selected though. If that doesn't fix the problem you might
want to re-do your pppd configuration

starting over with configuration.
1) delete any dialout accounts you have. You should check your /etc/ppp files and delete
any files with your isp name on/in them. If you used "pppconfig" to set up your
internet you might want to delete old connections that way.