PDA

View Full Version : setup lilo to boot from hd

sunpascal
01-13-2005, 08:09 AM
Hi,

Is it possible to setup lilo to boot from hard disk with Knoppix installed as image (using knoppix tohd at the bootprompt) ?
I do not want to install it using knoppix-installer.
I am new to linux and I have no idea of this...
I have only linux on my hard disk, so the configuration shouldn't be complicated, right?

Pascal

bfree
01-13-2005, 11:38 AM
Is it possible to setup lilo to boot from hard disk with Knoppix installed as image (using knoppix tohd at the bootprompt) ?

Maybe, you can certainly do this with grub and I would suspect with lilo also, but I would suggest grub rather then lilo. It doesn't make much difference though.

I have only linux on my hard disk, so the configuration shouldn't be complicated, right?

I don't think it is too complicated but I don't know for sure how to do it and can't test it out here and now. Between what I know and am reading ...

Boot into Knoppix and make a boot/grub directory on the partition you are using. You may need to copy the files stage* from /usr/share/grub/i386-pc (they could be somewhere else in which case locate stage might help) and put them in the boot/grub directory but I think grub-install will take care of this.

Next create a menu.lst for grub in the boot/grub directory. You could probably steal and modify one from the last page of the thread on iso booting with grub and ntfs if you needed to but there's plenty of examples around. Here's an example from my menu.lst ,slightly modified to try and strip some of my unusual cheatcodes and make it suit you a bit better (if you have everything in the first partition of your first hard disk).

title Knoppix 3.7 kernel 2.6
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/linux26 ramdisk_size=100000 init=/etc/init lang=ie apm=power-off vga=791 nomce quiet noprompt splash dma fromhd=/dev/hda1
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/minirt26.gz
boot

You'll probably need to get the linux26 and minirt26.gz from the cd.