PDA

View Full Version : Loadlin and Knoppix 3.7?

bigkahuna
01-13-2005, 08:16 PM
Hi,

I've got an old notebook computer that I want to run Knoppix 3.7 on. Problem is that it's old bios won't allow boot from CD, and it's designed so a single bay is shared by a floppy drive or CD-ROM. Also, the drives are not hot-swappable, so I have to power down to swap drives.

Can I use loadlin.exe to run Knoppix from the CD? That way I can boot Windows 95 with the CD-ROM installed, then exit to DOS and launch Knoppix through loadlin.exe.

If this is possible, please give me the -exact- command line as I'm a real Linix newbie.

Thanks!

Paul

P.S. - Incidently, I tried "Smart Boot Manager" and for some wierd reason it doesn't work on my system.

Harry Kuhman
01-13-2005, 08:22 PM
P.S. - Incidently, I tried "Smart Boot Manager" and for some wierd reason it doesn't work on my system.
What did it do? Have you ever used SBM on another system and had it work?

Did you look at using XOSL?

bigkahuna
01-13-2005, 08:34 PM
What did it do? Have you ever used SBM on another system and had it work?

No, didn't try it on other systems. Here's what happened:

I've tried running SBM from hard drive or floppy and all I get is "SBMK Bad!".I'm trying to use Smart Boot Manager on my computer:

Samsung Sens 810, Pentium 133, 40 mb ram, 2 gb hard drive, Phoenix NoteBios
4, Windows 95

And I get this error:

SBMK Bad!

I've tried installing SBM to hard drive and floppy disk, but I get the same
error. I have also tried version 3.7 and 3.6, but I still get the same
error.

I have the two files (sbminst.exe and cwsdpmi.exe) in a separate directory
( c:\temp ) and I tried installing to the floppy drive with this command
line:

sbminst -t us -d 0 -b sbm-bak.dat

It appears to install correctly, but the program will not run. I tried
installing to a bootable floppy disk, and I still get the "SBMK Bad!" error.
I also tried creating a Linux disk, and still get this error.

Did you look at using XOSL?