PDA

View Full Version : df -a has no (root) / ??



KnoDeb
11-15-2002, 07:04 PM
Not sure if this is the standard for knoppix hdinstall but in this way I can't do partimage fo hda1 because I only see the whole hard drive !!??

Is it normal not to have the / as root=/dev/hda1

Thanks

Flibble
01-05-2003, 10:09 PM
df stuff in faq any help?

http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/FaqInstall

RockMumbles
01-06-2003, 08:47 PM
I followed the directions in the FAQ and fixed my mtab. I shut down the computer and mtab was exactly the way it was before, I guess in startup a new mtab is written. (this maybe a version thing)

So I made an mtab file with my hd stuff and saved it as /etc/mtab-save. I then edited /etc/init.d/bootmisc.sh and added the following two lines at the bottom of the file:

rm /etc/mtab
cp /etc/mtab-save /etc/mtab

now df works as it should.

HTH

rock