PDA

View Full Version : KDE sys notification sounds work in root but not in user

lestat730
01-15-2005, 06:59 AM
A annoying problem I am trying to fix, maybe someone here knows how to do this? I am still new to linux and have Installed Knoppix 3.6 to my hard drive, when using the root account I have all the system notification sounds working (like KDE startup and shutdown), I can also play mp3's and such with the xmms software. However when logged in as my primary user I can not hear any of the system notification sounds at all, but I can play mp3's fine in xmms. I checked to see if my user settings in the control panel for the system notifications and sound system were the same as in my root account and they were. When I click the little play button to preview the sound effect I hear nothing, except of course when I'm in root. So whats the deal here? Anyone know? all help is greatly appreciated. - Lestat730

CrashedAgain
01-15-2005, 05:13 PM
edit the hidden file /home/knoppix/.kde/share/config/knotifyrc & change all settings to true. you should also check that xmms output plugin is arts otherwise you may find xmms locks up on you. You may have to apt-get xmms-arts plugin, not sure if latest versions of knoppix include it. Also if you are using konqueror as a web browser go to konqueror configuration settings plugins & set 'pipe plugin sounds though arts' to true. It is under the second tab under 'netscape plugins'. They should revise their dialog box names since netscape is now pretty much a thing of the past.

lestat730
01-19-2005, 02:20 AM
so I checked XMMS in output plugins and dont see an Arts, only the following:

OSS Driver 1.2.10 (libOSS.so)
eSound Output Plugin 1.2.10 (libesdout.so)
Disk Writer Plugin 1.2.10 (libdisk_writer.so)
ALSA 1.2.10 Output Plugin (libALSA.so)

went to root, typed in 'apt-get xmms-arts' and got the following:

root@mypcsname:~# apt-get arts
E: Invalid operation arts

any sugestions? I'd really like to resolve this problem, thanks