PDA

View Full Version : Yet another password question :(

active95
04-03-2003, 01:05 AM
Hello to all Knoppix gurus.
Like the post says , this is another password question :(
Basicaly i need to change the screen rez it asks me for the root password. And despide the fact that i did leave the space blank ( for the password ) it still doesn't want to budge,
Now i did read about the su... command , but since i'm a newbie trying to get away from windoze, don't know what to do next. As in , what do i need to change/replace the darn root password.
Appreciate any input
P.S I choose the Knoppiz since i don't have to partition the hdd in the windoze box

Stephen
04-03-2003, 01:12 AM
When you boot the computer to the lilo screen you see boot: just below the menu type linux single then enter which will boot you to a root prompt type passwd then enter type in your new password confirm it and re-boot (at the prompt type shutdown -r now then enter) your new password will be set.

Stephen
04-03-2003, 01:29 AM
I think I may have mis-read your question if you are booting from cdrom use the cheat codes to change the screen resolution ie. at the boot: knoppix screen=800x600 use F2 key to see your options. If you want to execute a command as root user use sudo <command> instead of su.

The post above is for a HD install.

active95
04-03-2003, 01:48 AM
Hii Stephen <Knoppix Master> :)
U're right it's doesn't work with the cd rom boot. But you did gave me an ideea. In KDE , i clicked the K then Knoppix then Shell. Now in Shell i pressed the Enter and i was able to input a new password and able to change res.
But :lol: now it asks me to restart session. And of course if i restart the settings are gone.
Could i ask what should i do know, to preserve the settings ? Of course beside using the cheats that you suggested?
Again i do appreciate it a lot
Long live the open source :)

Stephen
04-03-2003, 02:27 AM