PDA

View Full Version : restoring windows files

hood
01-16-2005, 11:30 PM
hi everyone, im new to linux and am stil testing knoppix - i must say i am very pleased with it , and once i have fixed the curent problem will defianelty move to using linux full time. but for now i wil just dabble with it until i feel confident to make the switch.

the stroy goes:

the other day my xp OS was corrupted and i am missing the following file:
ntdll.dll - it is missing or corrupt so i cant boot into win xp (home ed)
i had the idea of booting into knoppix with cd version, and replaicng the corrupted file from the windows cd.
the only problem is my HD is detected, but i can only view one file on it! very odd. anyone know how to view the rest, i have heard that NTFS and linux dont mix well, or maybe alll the other files are corrupted and i wont be able to see them under any OS?

anyway i am thinking of taking the HD out and putting it into a USB enclosure - i know knoppix detects usb drives well - so this means i should be able to view all files on th HD easily - and simply copy n paste from the windows cd to the HD the corrupted file - ntdll.dll

can anyone tel me if either of the two above options are possible, and if simply replacing the corrupted/missing file in winwos will fix it? i have a hunch it wont b that simple

just another note - when attempting to boot to win xp it stops at mup.sys - does this mean anyhting to anyone? apparanty mup.sys is a memory or network problem? is this part of the above problem, or a sepaete EXTRA problem i may need to fix?

any help or pointers to relevent information/guides/tutes wil be very gratefully recieved

thanks

PS i have linux red hat 6.1 - and plan to instal that once my pc is back up and running - i wil format drive etc one all data is backed up - howevere can anyone give advice on best free linux os. is redhat 6.1 good for a noob to linux, or should i stick with knoppix - mayeb use an installed version? cheers again

Crusader