PDA

View Full Version : Black screen after using Knoppix

feffer777
01-17-2005, 06:02 PM
I'm a newbie and just used the Knoppix CD on my Dell XP Home based computer. It wouldn't boot by itself, so I changed the BIOS in windows XP to boot CD first, floppy second and hard drive third. The CD then booted and I played around with Knoppix for a while. I wrote and saved some text and added a printer, and was able output my file. Then I did and orderly shutdown and removed the CD when prompted. However, now I'm not able to boot into Windows XP. I thought after not finding a CD or Floppy, the BIOS would find the hard drive and boot XP, but it doesn't. I just get a black screen and it seems no boot at all. So I put the Knoppix CD back in and tried to boot it, but nothing happened. I got a little activity showing as the CD started to spin, but then it stopped and no boot occured? What's happening and how can I get my machine to boot normally?

Markus
01-17-2005, 10:39 PM
IIRC Dell uses a somewhat crappy BIOS, you can search this forum on other posts about it.
The solution seems to be to disconnect the powercord for a minute or so (and battery if it's a laptop). After that it should boot normally.

feffer777
01-17-2005, 11:13 PM
Thanks for the reply. I tried disconnecting power, but perhaps it wasn't long enough. I'm at work now, so I'll try a longer disconnect when I get home. Was it a mistake for me to change the order of boot on the BIOS? It didn't seem like the Knoppix CD would boot otherwise. Should I disconnect the monitor and other cords as well?

My plan was to see a bit of Linux with the Knoppix CD and then later install Fedora on a second hard drive that I've installed for that purpose. It would be on a separate drive, but this problem has worried me a bit. I need this wintel machine to dual boot; my wife uses it and has no wish to move to Linux. Thanks again.

feffer777
01-18-2005, 05:23 AM