PDA

View Full Version : Just want a file off of the hd

iceman46
01-20-2005, 01:56 AM
Ok, I am a total noob. I want a file off of a linux hd. Mouse does not work and if I try to load anything other than failsafe puter freezes. If someone could just tell me how to connect to the web so I can send this file to myself with yousendit.com I will be finished for now. Have tried to copy the file to a fat 32 part on the puters other hd and can't figure out how to make the hd writeable. Using the Alt key, tab, and arrow keys I can move around enough to sort of figure it out with a little help. Thanks in advance. I am running Knoppix off of the only cd drive on the puter. No floppys. Normally run xp home if this helps.

pureone
01-20-2005, 02:50 AM
i think it may be easyer for you to move around in text based. im not 100% sure what the boot code would be but something like
knoppix 2 Runlevel 2 once its booted up presuming you have a floppy drive
cd /mnt/ go to that folder then
ls list files guessing that its your c:\ that you want to get into type
mount /mnt/hda1/ but you can change this depending on your situation.
cd /mnt/hda1/whateverfolder/thefiles/ then
ls list all files again im not sure but i belive you have to
mount /mnt/floppy before you can copy files to it make sure you do that anyway. once you have mounted floppy and found the file you want just
cp /mnt/hda1/whateverfolder\whateverfile.exe /mnt/floppy and thats all you should need.

if you do not have a floppy drive you have another option still mount the /mnt/hda1 or what ever partition your trying to get the file from and just type
lynx this is a text based browser you will be able to go to the website of your choice and upload the file with that,

iceman46
01-23-2005, 07:10 PM
Pureone,
Tried the suggestion didn't work. When I try to use anything except failsafe puter locks up. So here is my solution just need the step by step on how to do it.

boot "failsafe"