PDA

View Full Version : Remastering Without Wrecking Your Brains?

pakhoe
01-21-2005, 03:30 PM
Hi,

I am very new to KNOPPIX, well sort of!!, I've been using KNOPPIX since 3.4, I can never master the complexities of Linux in General. I have been a MS Administrator and have been supporting MS Products since time in memorial, and KNOPPIX and Linux in General is a new challenge. I used the free tools included in 'diagnosing' network and hardware problems.

I have always wanted to configure KNOPPIX since I laid hands on it to give me a basic UK English, Time, Date and Calendar and not to forget the '£' Sign and things associated with the 'QWERTY' English Keyboard. Also my Network Printer, which is an HP5N.

I have re-mastered the KNOPPIX*.iso in the past, and I can tell you I will not be doing that anymore, because the following process is what I used to alter the latest 'KNOPPIX_V3.7-2004-12-08-EN.iso'. My previous versions of re-master was not as good as the original, because I have to un-install alot of stuff before getting it to fit into a CD-R, but it fitted into a DVD-R or DVD+R without any problems, it's just that it gets a little expensive doing that.

Stage 1
I loaded up KNOPPIX 3.7 on my PC using the following cheat codes "knoppix lang=en xkeyboard=gb", once I am in the session. I set about configuring the Desktop and also the background and colour including the printing, using 'cups'. When I am satisfied with what I want, I saved the configuration onto a floppy diskette (Menu > KNOPPIX >Configure > Save KNOPPIX Configuration), which generated the two following files:

1. knoppix.sh
2. configs.tbz

Stage 2
I used WinISO 5.3, which incidentally can be downloaded from http://www.winiso.com/download.htm, obviously you must have the fully registered version before it will do everything.

I tested the configuration on the floppy diskette to ensure that it is actually what I want by using the following cheat code on a re-boot 'knoppix floppyconfig'