PDA

View Full Version : Super N00b

The Conman
01-24-2005, 09:33 PM
Allright, i am new to linux, like Knoppix-is-my-first-ever-distro new. And because of this, i cant figure out what to put on the Live CD, as there is no ISO that comes with it (ISO, BIN, NRG, you get the idea).

P.S. please dont laugh :oops:

Markus
01-24-2005, 09:40 PM
Have a look here: http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Downloading_FAQ
What software do you have to burn with?
And yes, it should be an iso. If it's a .rar rename to iso and burn as an image.

Harry Kuhman
01-24-2005, 10:19 PM
And yes, it should be an iso. If it's a .rar rename to iso and burn as an image.
NO NO, NO!

DO NOT RENAME A RAR AND BURN IT AS AN ISO!

If you downloaded from a mirror then you likely got an ISO. You should have also downloaded the md5 file and checked that the ISO was not corrupted. If you can't be bothered to do that then you should not be thinking about using Knoppix, stick to windows.

If you downloaded with Bittorrent then you got a RAR file. THIS is a compressed archive with several files in it, including the ISO and the md5 file, as wel as a few other files (at least one for an alternative type of check of the ISO file, although MD5 is sufficent to be completely sure the file is not corrupt). Markus gave you completely bad advice, you do not just rename this file, that would be worthless. You need to extract the ISO and other files from the RAR. There are many programs for windows that will do this. WnRAR is the most popular. There is also a free DOS command lime program called unrar that will extract RAR files. There is a well regarded free open source program that deals with many forms of compression called 7-zip that will read RAR files. Pick a tool and use it to extract the ISO and the other files. Check the file against the md5 checksum (problems are much less likely when the file has been downloaded with Bittorrent, but it's still a good habit to get into).