PDA

View Full Version : Install XP after Knoppix - LILO problem

ackelley
02-02-2005, 04:02 PM
I am a new user to Knoppix. I have been running Windows XP for a couple of years now, but I started having so much trouble with updates and such that I decided to try Linux. My brother, who is also semi-new to Linux helped me install Knoppix and Lilo so that I could boot Windows XP or Knoppix. I have two a 40GB hard drive that has 4 partitions (each 10GB). The first partition is Windows XP and the second is Knoppix. The third and fourth are just storage.

I've pretty much been using Knoppix full time, but I have a couple of programs in Windows that I need to use and I haven't found replacements for them in Knoppix, so when my Windows XP load ended up having several bugs, I decided to reformat that partition and reload XP.

Of course, when I did that, the MBR got messed up and now I can't get back in to Linux. I used the Live CD to boot into Knoppix and I used a terminal window to bring Lilo back up. Now Lilo is coming up properly and I can select either system, but Linux won't boot properly. It seems to have trouble finding the right place to load from. It starts to mount the drives, but then throws a "kernel panic" error and says something about failing to find the init file.

I read another forum discussion where someone said you could reload LILO from the HD install by using the Live CD and booting with the following code:

Knoppix lang=us root=/dev/hdaX noinit ro

I tried this, but it said:

fsck.ext3: Invalid argument while trying to open /dev/hda8

Now, it is probably important to mention that before my Windows reload, Knoppix was mounted in such a way that it was on hda8. After my windows reload, when I booted with the Live CD, I could see that Knoppix was on hda6. So when I restored Lilo I used root=/dev/hda6.

Could the drive numbering be the problem? It used to be hda8 and now it is hda6? I don't know how to fix it. Can someone help me?

Thanks

Markus