PDA

View Full Version : Instructions: Dual booting Poor Man/Win2k using GRUB

Jansi
02-02-2005, 07:17 PM
Hi people -- because of problems with LILO on the current release of KNOPPIX (3.7), I was finally inspired to delve in to GRUB... needless to say, I am no expert on GRUB (or anything Linux/KNOPPIX for that matter!). But for the people like me who simply want to be able to boot a "Poor Man's Installation" from an old windows workhorse, I decided to clean-up the (very explicit) outline I wrote for my own use and share it with you. I've tested the general procedure on several computers -- but so far I've only on one true Win2k installation like I describe below (my own home one -- the other 3 computers I tested it on in the past 2 days were trashed old ones with no OS on them - these instructions worked with very minimal simplifying). I am going to try it on another Windows installation this afternoon I hope, with a friend's permission. Eventually, when I clean this up, I'm thinking this should go in the docs right above this:
http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Hd_Based_HowTo#1.2.1._Knoppix_3.4_version_only
I've been using those for some time, well over a dozen times on computers for public kiosk use among other things (thanks, RD! And Marcus for reformatting it) -- but it is starting to be problematic that those instructions don't really apply past 3.4 anymore for me without a bunch of LILO fussiness. Mine apply to at least 3.7, and I'd guess everything since 3.4.